Sacred Scripture

Part 1: The Four Senses of Scripture


The Four Senses of Scripture

Film Focus Point: This brief lesson by "The Religion Teacher" reviews the two senses of interpreting sacred scripture: literal and spiritual (including allegorical, moral, and anagogical).

Text Focus Point: Page 11

Discussion Questions

  1. Why can’t all of sacred scripture be interpreted literally?

  2. Which of these is the most challenging method of biblical interpretation? Why?

  3. What other examples from scripture can you cite for each of these?

Looking for teacher resources? Sign in or create an account to request access to teacher materials

Related Resources

YouTube Videos